Couldn't find without an ID

Hello all. I'm new to RoR. I am having trouble trying to get a simple edit/update going. Everytime I hit submit, I get the following error:

If you did not use a generator to make your scaffolding, then you may not have your routes set up correctly. new might be calling edit so there is not parameter.

The one bit of information you've missed out there is the url your form has posted to. It should be something like:

http://your.site/contents/update/12345

The number at the end of the URL is the id of the "content" record you are trying to update. If it's missing something's wrong somewhere. If you view source of the html page before you post the form, where does the form say it's going to post to?

Yup, there's no id param there, and the format value is messed up for some reason. Even though your code looks fine to me at first glance.

What does your routes.rb file look like?

Jeff

+1

Thanks for your replies. I didn't use / or generate scaffolding for this project. Here is what my routes.rb looks like:

ActionController::Routing::Routes.draw do |map|

map.resource :content   map.resource :weblink   map.connect ':controller/:action/:id'   map.connect ':controller/:action/:id.:format' end

After doing a view-source on my form before submission, here's what I found:

<form action="/content.%23%3Ccontent:0x373ac10%3E" class="edit_content" id="edit_content_2" method="post"><div style="margin:0;padding:0;display:inline"><input name="_method" type="hidden" value="put" /><input name="authenticity_token" type="hidden" value="2KH+rzW8Xy68gwDdjceXEqJH2aM69PdV44Hx0UVbooA=" />

:slight_smile:

Uggh! I can't believe it's that missing 's' that was causing me heartache. I also changed 'content' to 'contents' and it's working fine after the update. I guess I need to read more about this routes.rb file. I still don't have a 100% grasp on it. Thanks all for your help.

Pleasure.

http://api.rubyonrails.org/classes/ActionController/Routing.html