Cookie session security and open-source

I've noticed that quite a number of open-source Rails apps are using the new cookie session feature, and have the session secret predefined in the config/environment.rb file. I'm no expert on this, but I was under the impression that the "secret key" needed to be kept secret or there is a security problem. Maybe everyone who downloads these apps is taking the time to change the secret key before deploying them into production, but I generally haven't found anything in the installation instructions to indicate that end-users should do so. This concerns me a bit.

Clearly, there's an easy solution to this (potential) problem: don't use a secret key that you didn't generate yourself. What I'm wondering is if this is an area where Rails could be doing more to automate this stuff. Perhaps a solution would be to store an automatically generated session id and key in the database, much like with schema_migrations?

Thanks, - Trevor

When you run `rails myapp` it creates a new key for you, so every app should be different. Checkout the generator file at:

http://github.com/rails/rails/tree/master/railties/lib/rails_generator/generators/applications/app/app_generator.rb

Right, but lots of open-source applications come with an config/ environment.rb file with that secret key already created. Maybe I'm worrying over nothing, but it seems to me that people could be checking out open-source apps and running them in production with the secret key that was checked into the open-source project's repo, if that makes sense.

- Trevor