Completely broken rails install on OSX

Hi

I am new to rails and I was trying to get version 2.1.1 installed so that I could run lovdbyless and play with Rails to see what it was like. When trying to install lovdbyless I kept getting problems when running "rake" so I looked around for an answer and did what the forums said, and then i'd get another error and i'd go through the same process. Now I am getting very strange errors that I can't find anyone else having so I really need some help!

I am on OSX 10.6.6.

Here's what happens:

$ rails -v -bash: /opt/local/bin/rails: /opt/local/bin/ruby: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

$ ruby -v -bash: ruby: command not found

$ sudo port install ruby ---> Computing dependencies for ruby ---> Cleaning ruby

$ sudo port install rails Error: Port rails not found

I am totally lost, so any help, even if it's just some instructions on deleting everything and starting again, would be very helpful.

Thanks so much! Ben

Hi, Ben,

Try RVM http://rvm.beginrescueend.com

Almost everyone uses it.

Andrei

I used this and worked like a charm:

Thanks Andrei

I had already installed RMV. I tried again and it seemed to install fine but now i get:

$ rvm list known -bash: rvm: command not found $ rvm install ruby-1.8.7-p160 -bash: rvm: command not found

I must be doing something stupid i know, but not sure what it is! (is it something to do with the difference between shell and bash?)

Thanks for your help Ben

shell and bash are the same thing

i tried rvm but had a couple of problems in mac since rvm is more linux oriented

and if u want to use the 1.8.7 its already installed in mac 10.6

I wonder if you added the required line to your .bash_profile file.

This is the line...

[[ -s "$HOME/.rvm/scripts/rvm" ]] && . "$HOME/.rvm/scripts/rvm" # This loads RVM into a shell session.

Check out the link on the rvm site... and scroll down to the "Post Install" section.

http://rvm.beginrescueend.com/rvm/install/

David