collection_select question

Hello,

I'm pretty new to Ruby on Rails (ROR) so I'm sorry if this is a silly thing to ask. I have tried looking at several tutorials online but most of them are for the earlier version of ROR and even the API is not helping me too much!

Basically I would like to create a drop down list in a form. I have simplified my problem so that you'll be able to understand it in a few lines.

A simple diagram is here: http://learningspirit.co.uk/class_diagram.png

The migration and model files are here: ## db/migrate/003_books.rb class Books < ActiveRecord::Migration   def self.up     create_table :books do |t|       t.column :title, :string, :limit => 32, :null => false       t.column :price, :float       t.column :subject_id, :integer       t.column :description, :text       t.column :created_at, :timestamp     end   end

def self.down     drop_table :books   end end

## db/migrate/004_subjects.rb class Subjects < ActiveRecord::Migration   def self.up     create_table :subjects do |t|       t.column :name, :string     end

Subject.create :name => "Physics"     Subject.create :name => "Mathematics"     Subject.create :name => "Chemistry"     Subject.create :name => "Psychology"     Subject.create :name => "Geography"   end

def self.down     drop_table :subjects   end end

## app/model/book.rb class Book < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :subject   validates_presence_of :title   validates_numericality_of :price, :message=>"Error message" end

## app/model/subject.rb class Subject < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :books end

The relevant book_controller.rb methods are:   def new     @book = Book.new     @subjects = Subject.find(:all)   end

def create     @book = Book.new(params[:book])     if @book.save       redirect_to :action => 'list'     else       @subjects = Subject.find(:all)       render :action => 'new'     end   end