Change model definition using scaffold

Hi all

Apologies if this a trivially newb question but I'm new to rails (and frameworks in general) but is there a way to change the model definition using the scaffold, i.e. is it possible to update the model, views etc if I decide I need to add field d to fields a, b and c that I already created using script/generate scaffold...?

At the moment I'm having to delete the generated code, rollback the DB migration ad generate it from scratch again - I'm sure there must be an easier/faster way.

Cheers

Mark

I understood the question's answer seems to be:

yes, you can edit the files themselves to reflect the changes you made to the model. If you added a new field x to the model, then you can change the files like _form.html.erb to have the x field in it.

Hi Ramon

Not quite. I understand that the files can be edited 'manually' but I was wondering if there was a short hand using the scaffold so that I wouldn't have to, e.g. I re-run script/generate with a different param to add a field to all of the relevant files...

Cheers

M

No, but you could:

1. Revert your migration with rake db:migrate:rollback (to go back one version; or use VERSION= explicitly) 2. script/destroy scaffold ModelName

Then you can script/generate your scaffold again.

But that's a lot of work... easier to just manually update a few files. If you first refactor your new and edit forms out into a partial, you'll save yourself some editing.

Jeff

REST with Rails Saturday, Oct 4, 2008 Austin, Texas http://www.purpleworkshops.com/workshops/rest-and-web-services

Hi --

Hi all

Apologies if this a trivially newb question but I'm new to rails (and frameworks in general) but is there a way to change the model definition using the scaffold, i.e. is it possible to update the model, views etc if I decide I need to add field d to fields a, b and c that I already created using script/generate scaffold...?