can't install rails - gem is asking for a zlib

Hey all, this is my first attempt with rails....

This what is happening:

me@mypc:~$ ruby -v ruby 1.9.2p0 (2010-08-18 revision 29036) [i686-linux] me@mypc:~$ gem -v 1.3.7

so, ok let's install rails:

me@mypc:~$ gem install rails ERROR: Loading command: install (LoadError)     no such file to load -- zlib ERROR: While executing gem ... (NameError)     uninitialized constant Gem::Commands::InstallCommand

:frowning:

I've searched in google, forums, etc.. but I couldn't find a good answer for my problem, so I'm here.

Thanks in advance for your time. cheers!

check if exist the file zlib.dll in ruby’s bin folder.

Hugo Roque wrote:

check if exist the file zlib.dll in ruby's bin folder.

-- * Hugo Roque *

*Twitter**:* http://twitter.com/Hugolnx *Email:* hugo.roque@caelum.com.br *Github:* HugoLnx (HugoLnx) · GitHub *Celular:* 8641-1271 *Blog:* http://hugolnx.wordpress.com/

Hi Hugo, thanks for your answer, but I'm using Ubuntu, so I don't have dll's. Thanks anyway.

Ah, Ubuntu, cool :wink:

than try:

sudo gem install rails

+your password

I saw you tried on Ruby 1.9 If you are new, I think the best is the default, easiest way. First try it from Synaptic, and with the latest stable versions, but as you wish.

I had plenty of problems installing Rails on Ubuntu, so if you still cannot install it well, please let me know, or also you can find me in private.

good luck,

gezope

That probably means you don't have the zlib package installed. Make sure you install the dev headers.

Then go back to where you built Ruby, cd to ext/zlib, and run "ruby extconf.rb; make; sudo make install".

If you're using the Debian package for Ruby, I think the zlib library was broken out into its own package that you'll need to install.

Regards,

Dan

Zoltan Gero wrote:

Ah, Ubuntu, cool :wink:

than try: *sudo** gem install rails* +your password