Caching for layout variables

To make a long question short: I'm fairly new to caching in Rails. What's the best way to cache stuff that is used in the layout without caching the entire action/view?

Lets say I have the following in my Application controller to set some variables that are used in my layout:

before_filter :get_sidebar_items

def get_sidebar_items     @menu_items = MenuItem.all     @archives = Post.all_grouped_by_month   end

I can easily cache the display of the menu items in application.html.erb using a fragment:

<% cache(:menu_items) do %>   <% for i in @menu_items %>     <%= i.name %>   <% end %> <% end %>

Problem is, that doesn't cache the database query. Is there a nifty way to cache some global stuff like this? As far as I can tell, the Caching Guide doesn't touch on this much.

Tim Shaffer wrote in post #967005:

To make a long question short: I'm fairly new to caching in Rails. What's the best way to cache stuff that is used in the layout without caching the entire action/view?

Lets say I have the following in my Application controller to set some variables that are used in my layout:

before_filter :get_sidebar_items

def get_sidebar_items     @menu_items = MenuItem.all     @archives = Post.all_grouped_by_month   end

I can easily cache the display of the menu items in application.html.erb using a fragment:

<% cache(:menu_items) do %>   <% for i in @menu_items %>     <%= i.name %>   <% end %> <% end %>

Problem is, that doesn't cache the database query. Is there a nifty way to cache some global stuff like this? As far as I can tell, the Caching Guide doesn't touch on this much.

Look up the RDoc for ActiveSupport::Cache::Store. You'll need to use the interface described there (at least in Rails 2).

Best,

Thanks. Turned out to be way simple...

@menu_items = Rails.cache.fetch(:menu_items_all) { MenuItem.all }

And it's just as easy to delete it...

Rails.cache.delete(:menu_items_all)