Build associated model confusion

I'm new to Rails3, and I'm just trying to get one last thing to work before I call it a night. The situation is the following (please if the code is horrible, just let me know, still learning):

I want to log a dive. I might have a new location on that dive at which point I have to create a new Location, and then create the dive. A dive has_one location. A location has_many dives. Currently the foreign key is on dive as location_id.

How do I properly, in my dives_controller, generate the location, get the ID, and pass it on to my new dive? It would be nice to have the constructor of Location called, but if it doesn't work that way, then that's okay too.

My code is below:

Thanks.

Melih Onvural wrote in post #968249:

I'm new to Rails3, and I'm just trying to get one last thing to work before I call it a night. The situation is the following (please if the code is horrible, just let me know, still learning):

I want to log a dive. I might have a new location on that dive at which point I have to create a new Location, and then create the dive. A dive has_one location. A location has_many dives. Currently the foreign key is on dive as location_id.

Then Dive belongs_to Location. Go review the difference between belongs_to and has_one.

Best,

A bit closer now. I now have it such that:

dive     belongs_to :location end

I've got the initialize function following through, but it's still throwing an error on this code here:

@location = @dive.create_location(params[:location])

@dive.location_id = @location.id

with the following error message:

"You have a nil object when you didn't expect it! You might have expected an instance of Array. The error occurred while evaluating nil.delete"

any clues?

A comment about your Location model: