Beginner Problems with many-to-many Relations

Hello people!

I'm quite new to Rails and I've got a project to do that requires some many-to-many relations right at the beginning. I'll describe what I want to do, maybe you could tell me how to realize that.

I have the tables »people« and »courses«. One course can have multiple people (I'm talking of teachers here) and one person can be in multiple courses. As I started creating my application in the RESTful way and I learned that the »has_and_belongs_to_many« association doesn't work very well with the REST-approach, I created a third table and model called »teachers« that is the join model between those two, so the models look like this:

class Course < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :teachers   has_many :people, :through => :teachers end

class Person < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :teachers   has_many :courses, :through => :teachers end

class Teacher < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :course   belongs_to :person end

Now following the RESTful way I should add teachers only through my »TeachersController«, right? Now what I'd like to do is the following.

When you are creating a new course, then on the same page with the course form (so /courses/new ) there should be the possibility to add people as teachers to the course. Then if you edit this course afterwords it should show you the teachers of this course and make it possible to get them out of this course and add new ones to the course. But how can I have that on the same page as the courses? How do I create a new teacher on the same page where the new or edit form of a specific course is?

I have really no clue. I mean I don't insist on having the »Add Teacher« thing on the new course page, but what I don't want, is to put it on an own page only for adding a teacher.

Would be very happy about some answers. :slight_smile: