basic routing question with HABTM

Hi, Rails newbie here.

If I have a basic HABTM association - say, users and groups - I can't get my head around the RESTful routing required to add a user to a group.

POST /user will call user#create POST /group will call group#create POST /group/:group_id/user should call: what? Is it ok to define a "addUser" action to the group controller? Or should I test for the existence of the group_id in the user#create method and then proceed accordingly? I want to do things the Rails way but sometimes my PHP experience comes back to haunt me. :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Stan

I’m not sure what do you mean… but maybe this sample code will help you… :slight_smile:

resources :groups do

resources :users # using nested routes :slight_smile:

end

It will generate url like this

new_group_user GET /groups/:group_id/users/new(.:format) {:action=>“new”, :controller=>“users”}

You can see the detail with “rake routes”

:slight_smile:

Hi,

Thanks for responding, but that's not really what I was looking for. My basic problem is that I don't understand how to correctly distinguish between user creation and assignment of a user to a group using RESTFUL routes. It appears to me that with nested routes, you end up with users#create in both cases.

Stan

There is no one 'correct' way to do this. Both of your suggestions will work. But I'd agree with your instinct that they both feel a little bit hackish.

One solution would be to specify a different controller to handle users scoped inside groups:

resources :groups do   resources :users, :controller => 'group_users' end

Then the concept of creating a user inside a group, and the concept of creating a user, can be handled in completely separate controllers.