attr_accessible question

Hi! I'm new to Rails and to this forum, so let me know if I'm posting incorrectly.

I'm trying to understand accessible attributes (attr_accessible). I'm working with Ruby 1.9.3, and Rails 3.2.3.

Here's my scenario: I have four tables: colors, shapes, customers, and widgets. Colors table has id and color. Shapes table has id and shape. Customers table has id and customer. Widgets table has id, color_id, shape_id, and customer_id.

The relationships are as you might expect: colors, shapes, and customers all have many widgets, and widgets belongs to colors, shapes, and customers.

To create a new widget in the widgets controller, I scope it through a customer, roughly like this (syntax may have errors, but you get the idea): current_customer.widgets.create(color_id: params[:color], shape_id: params[:shape]) (as you can probably guess, current_customer is the current logged-in user)

Okay, so given that basic scenario, on to my questions.

My main question is whether I must keep the color_id and shape_id attributes accessible via mass assignment in the widgets controller. Or, is there a way to keep them inaccessible via mass assignment and still make this work.

In other words, in Rails 3.2.3, do I need this line in my app/models/widgets.rb file: attr_accessible :color_id, :shape_id

So far I've tried leaving this out, but my rspec threw a mass assignment security error because of this line in my spec: before { @widget = customer.widgets.build(color_id: color.id, shape_id: shape.id) }

If I leave these attributes accessible, am I leaving a security hole (where a user can alter a color_id or shape_id of an existing record without authorization)? Or is it sufficient that I've scoped the creation of a widget through a current_user?

Thanks, Brian

Okay, so given that basic scenario, on to my questions.