attachment_fu: Saving files with random filenames (using Digest::SHA1)

Hi all,

I'm creating an image uploader of sorts, and would like all of the filenames of uploaded files to be completely random when saved. I am fairly new to Ruby, Rails, and attachment_fu, and came up with the following earliar:

require 'digest/sha1'

class Photo < ActiveRecord::Base   has_attachment :content_type => :image,                  :storage => :file_system,                  :processor => 'ImageScience',                  :path_prefix => 'public/photos',                  :thumbnails => { :thumb => '100x100>' }   validates_as_attachment

def filename=(new_name)     new_name = "#{Digest::SHA1.hexdigest(Time.now.to_s)}#{File.extname(new_name)}"     write_attribute :filename, sanitize_filename(new_name)   end end

This works, creating filenames such as '4de12252220d679aa99b12be835ab56c7a5f7fc9.png', but it doesn't set the thumbnail name correctly (i.e: 4de12252220d679aa99b12be835ab56c7a5f7fc9_thumb.png) - instead, it saves it with the same filename (4de12252220d679aa99b12be835ab56c7a5f7fc9.png).

Does anyone have any ideas on how I can achieve this?

Thanks.

I figured out how to do it. Here's the code for those who are interested. Seems to work perfect now and generates the thumbnail names how it should.

http://pastie.caboo.se/74792

Rob

Hello,

def filename=(new_name)     new_name = "#{Digest::SHA1.hexdigest(Time.now.to_s)}#{File.extname(new_name)}"     write_attribute :filename, sanitize_filename(new_name)   end end

This works, creating filenames such as '4de12252220d679aa99b12be835ab56c7a5f7fc9.png', but it doesn't set the thumbnail name correctly (i.e: 4de12252220d679aa99b12be835ab56c7a5f7fc9_thumb.png) - instead, it saves it with the same filename (4de12252220d679aa99b12be835ab56c7a5f7fc9.png).

The problem is filename= is sometimes called with the filename of the full image and sometimes called with the thumbnail's filename.