Association Methods

I am a newbie of ruby on rails. And I have met a problem with model association.

I have 2 tables here, one is "item" the other is "brand", when I create one new item, I want to select one brand from the list.

Here are the models:

class Brand < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :items end

class Item < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :brand end

for item/new view <% form_for(@item) do |f| %>   <%= f.error_messages %>

<p>     <%= f.label :Brand %><br />     <%= f.collection_select(:brand, Brand.find(:all), :id, :name, {:prompt => "please select one brand"}) %>   </p> ...

I can get the list successfully when create the new item, but when I press the "create" button, I've got the "Brand(#57323960) expected, got String(#21132310)" AssociationTypeMismatch error

I am not sure why I got the AssociationTypeMismatch error, and how can I handle this?

I sometimes find these helper methods quite confusing. The key is what parameters they are sending back to your controller when you hit the create button. Check your logs if you're unsure. The above line is probably sending   params[:item][:brand] => <brand-id> where <brand-id> is the id number for an existing brand. Another way to check is to look at the generated select tag; it will probably be <select name="item[brand]" ...> (note how 'params' builds its hash structure off the 'name' attribute).

You might want to change it to:      <%= f.collection_select(:brand_id, Brand.find(:all), :id, :name, {:prompt => "please select one brand"}) %>