API - Sending and Receiving XML

I am new to rails and looking someone to point me in the right direction in how to accomplish the following:-

I need to communicate with an external api by either passing an XML document directly into the cgi (https://api.domain.com/v1/method.cgi) and set the content-type to "text/xml", or pass it as a parameter and set the content-type to "text/plain"

I supposedly get an XML response back instead of the HTML response, so no need to download the HTML response, store it, then render a local copy for the user; nor will i need to stick the XML document within a parameter of a locally generated HTML form to submit it via the browser to avoid downloading the HTML.

Each API method has example xml code for (Sending, The Response, DTD, Schema)

What is the best tools/techniques to accomplish this !??

One of their simpler methods is as follows :-

**SEND**

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?> <SoftwareAPI> <Method>ListUsers</Method> <APIKey>123</APIKey> <Account>     <UserName>admin</UserName>     <Password>Password</Password> </Account> </SoftwareAPI>

**RESPONSE**

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?> <SoftwareAPIResponse>     <TimeNow>2012-01-23T16:44:00Z</TimeNow>     <ResponseId>01-23-1232729040-23456</ResponseId>     <ListUsersResponse>         <User>             <Team>team</Team>             <Office>office</Office>             <UserName>Joe.Bloggs</UserName>             <Password>Password123</Password>             <FullName>Joe Bloggs</FullName>             <Language>Auto-Detect</Language>             <Telephone>+44 207 123 456 789</Telephone>             <ResponseEmail>joebloggs@domain.co.uk</ResponseEmail>         </User>     </ListUsersResponse> </SoftwareAPIResponse>

This API method needs no interaction from the user or view, should the coding be done from the controller or should I create a model for all the api methods ?