Ajax call really slow...

Hey Guys,

I'm fairly new to Rails, so my guess is that I'm just doing this wrong. I have a site that I'm building that uses ajax to update a list of items depending on what tab a user clicks. Unfortunately, it isn't live yet so I can't send a link directly to the site, but I have it all working using straight HTML/JS/XML. Where the problems start is when I try to use Rails to generate the update.

At first I tried to use RJS to push a partial template that loops through each item to generate the html block that I need to push to the list. I figured this would be easy and straight forward, but even though I only have 2 items in the DB currently (will eventually be hundreds) the list was taking 2+ seconds to update even locally. I even tried changing my technique to use :update on a link_to_remote instead of the RJS template with no increase performance.

Next I tried leaving the javascript that I was using before in place, but used a partial template to build the xml file that was requested. This seemed to help the performance, but I still wasn't able to decrease the load time to an acceptable amount.

Lastly, I'm trying to use an rxml template to build the xml instead of looping within a partial template: