Advice concerning model hierarchy and associations

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Rails.. first post here :slight_smile:

Hope I'm not repeating an already asked question though I assume I'm not the first one looking for how to best implement such an association.. Anyway, haven't found the answers I was looking for when searching for it, thus posting here a question. Apologise in advance if it's a repeated one.. but would still appreciate any helpful suggestion / direction / reference.. a lot.. :slight_smile:

I started working on a project where there are hierarchical groups of users. If I were to call the groups GroupAUsers, GroupBUsers, GroupCUsers, GroupDUsers (may be more Groups, behaving the same way), then the connection between the users in each group can be illustrated as follows:

* GroupAUsers have many GroupBUsers, plus have their own groupAUser attributes. They also have full access to all other User groups hierarchically “below” GroupBUsers.

* GroupBUsers belong to GroupAUsers and have many GroupCUsers, plus have their own specific GroupBUsers' attributes. For each User of GroupCUsers they have full access to his/her GroupDUsers.

* GroupCUsers belong to GroupBUsers and have many (each such user) GroupDUsers, plus have their own specific attributes

* GroupDUsers belong to GroupCUsers and have their own specific attributes.

* And so on.. (in case of additional such groups)

A better description of this would probably be (writing code only to explain, this is not a copy paste of my code, though it's what I have in mind right now as for associating the models)

class GroupAUser < ActiveRecord::Base      has_many :group_b_users      has_many :group_c_users, :through => :group_b_users

# Not sure how should the     # has_many :group_d_users     # association look like …     # it's a 'nested through'..     # which means I need some help here as well in case that's what I should be doing..     # plus it becomes worse in case I have additional groups end