ActiveRecord .order and .first/.last

Hello, I’m fairly new to Ruby and Rails and I’ve been playing around for a while with Rails and Turbo. Currently I’m trying to dynamically add records to a table that is populated directly from a list of entries from the database. As the dynamically entries should be added ordered by date, I’m trying to “find” the right place to insert the new record based on a custom ‘date’ field within the entity.

The following is the code I’m using to try to get the entries whose “transaction_date” is before the “one” I’m trying to insert.

pocket.transactions.order(transaction_date: "asc").where("transaction_date < ?", "2024-02-04").last

If I run the code without the .last call I would get somethinkg like

1. 2024-02-01
  2. 2024-02-03
  3. 2024-02-03
  4. 2024-02-03

My expectation when calling .last is that the entry 4 is the one returned. But instead i’m getting entry 2 So I’m wondering if I’m missing something with this call

Thank you in advance for your help

Interesting. Did you try ordering after the where clause. I ask because I’d expect things that way in a SQL query:

SELECT * FROM table WHERE where_clause ORDER BY the_order;

Whereas if you order before your where, I’m imagining AR is grabbing all the entries, ordering them and then trying to do a where on that selection… I suppose the only way of knowing for sure is to print out the generated SQL using to_sql, for example

Note that your last three records have the same transaction date, so the date alone is not unique enough for this to get ordered properly. If you add another more unique thing in the mix then it should work. Let’s also include the ID:

pocket.transactions.order(:transaction_date, :id).where("transaction_date < ?", "2024-02-04").last

(Also note that “ASC” is the default for .order since it is SQL’s default for ORDER BY.)

2 Likes

Continuing the discussion from ActiveRecord .order and .first/.last:

Thank you for your replies.

@mateusdeap