ActiveRecord: Least surprise? Really?

OK I AM new to RoR, and I have more experience with Java and straight SQL. So maybe I'm just so used to thinking in a way that is anticipating more than "least" surprise. Anyway, here's what surprised me:

If I have an object that belongs to another object, I would expect the parent to have the FK to the child, not the other way around.

Why? Because if I were to do it in memory (forget about persistence for a minute), it would like kinda like this:

p = Parent.new p.children << Child.new

Now in this example, p has an array of children (as in, it HAS MANY). If I wanted to do a two-way relationship, I would do:

p = Parent.new c = Child.new p.children << c c.parent = p

In this case, the parent has an array of children (literally a list of many references to its children), and the child has a single reference to a parent (assuming an xml-like hierarchy here, not a family-tree type hierarchy).

Anyway, when I create a "has_one" association, I would expect this object's table to literally have a FK column for the "child" object. When I create a "belongs_to" association, I would expect the same thing.

When I create a "has_many" association, I would expect a fact table "parent_child" to be created (with id, parent_id, and child_id columns), and if I wanted a two-way relationship, I would add "belongs_to" to the Child.

If I wanted to create a class that maintains various user lists: class UserLists < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :naughty, :class => "User"   has_many :nice, :class => "User"   has_many :absent, :class => "User" end

I would expect some fact tables to be created: naughty_users (with columns id, userlist_id, user_id), nice_users (with id, userlist_id, user_id), and absent_users (again with id, userlist, and id).

has_many :foo, :class => 'User' only says "find a model called User, and expect it to have a user_list_id pointing to us".

To distinguish moral relevance, use: