ActiveRecord::AssociationTypeMismatch in ApplicationsController#create

(Apologies in advance...I can't seem to format this post correctly...before answering, please let me know how to force newlines/format code!!)

I've seen this error often and have tried to get to understand it based on other posts, but to no avail.

I'm very new to Rails and so my lack of knowledge of the theoretical framework here is likely the cause of this pitfall, but I would absolutely love it if someone could please lead me up to what exactly needs to change to avoid the error:

The exact error is:

Application(#70358560838160) expected, got String(#18246440)

Extracted source (around line #27):

# POST /applications.json def create    @application = Application.new(application_params)

respond_to do |format|      if @application.save

The parameters are as follows:

{"utf8"=>"✓",

"authenticity_token"=>"wqSTW1Blj7c7sdlx1VCuvxDxqaCeT3FnaHa3yk/98NF7tym4YOc+9EMxlagj5/cgwCa3ZyjLsIxKJG/jGVCV1w==",

"application"=>{"patients_ptID"=>"1", "pharm_manufacturers_phID"=>"1", "medications_rxnorm_ndc"=>"Tylenol", "app_status"=>"Pending", "date_init(1i)"=>"2015", "date_init(2i)"=>"2", "date_init(3i)"=>"8"}, "commit"=>"Create Application"}

Here is my ApplicationsController (applications_controller.rb):

class ApplicationsController < ApplicationController   before_action :set_application, only: [:show, :edit, :update, :destroy]

# GET /applications   # GET /applications.json   def index     @applications = Application.all   end

# GET /applications/1   # GET /applications/1.json   def show   end

# GET /applications/new   def new     @application = Application.new   end

# GET /applications/1/edit   def edit   end

# POST /applications   # POST /applications.json   def create     @application = Application.new(application_params)