Active Record Relations and Nesting

Hello,   I am looking to create a rails app that will model and display related nodes. I am just beginning to dive into active record and I was wondering if the following pesudo code would work?

class NodeLink < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :node # foreign key - node_id (recorded as primary_node_id)   belongs_to :node # foreign key - node_id (recorded as secondary_node_id) end

class Node < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :nodes, :through => :node_links end

In essence this would create something that looks like the following.       [Node One]       > >       > > [Node Two] [Node Three]

[Node Four]

Where the node links are represented by the lines and the nodes themselves are enclosed in brackets. And this pattern could be continued indefinite through different variations of nodes and links.

Any help or advice you could give would be great. Thanks, Devin Morin

Hello, I am looking to create a rails app that will model and display related nodes. I am just beginning to dive into active record and I was wondering if the following pesudo code would work?

class NodeLink < ActiveRecord::Base belongs_to :node # foreign key - node_id (recorded as primary_node_id) belongs_to :node # foreign key - node_id (recorded as secondary_node_id) end

You'll need to specify different names for these two associations; a working declaration might look like:

class NodeLink < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :primary_node, :class_name => 'Node'   belongs_to :secondary_node, :class_name => 'Node' end

class Node < ActiveRecord::Base has_many :nodes, :through => :node_links end

This gets messier: