Accessing custom actions from another route and general routing confusion

Ok, I’m really new to rails, so go easy on me :sweat_smile: I’ve been looking around for a few days for a nice solution this or some best practice and I haven’t found a concise solution

I have a task app where tasks belong to a project and a route for all tasks. Tasks have statuses for completion, archived etc and some scopes with associated actions in TasksController:

def complete
    @task.update(status_id: 4)
    redirect_back(fallback_location: root_url)
  end

def incomplete
    @task.update(status_id: 1)
    redirect_back(fallback_location: root_url)
  end

def completed
    @tasks = Task.completed.not_archived.newest
  end

def archive
    @task.update(archived: true)
    redirect_to root_path
  end

def archived
    @tasks = Task.archived.newest
  end
routes.rb

resources :priorities
  resources :statuses

resources :tasks do
    member do
      put 'complete'
      put 'incomplete'
      put 'archive'
    end
  end
  resources :projects
  get 'completed', to: 'tasks#completed', as: 'completed_tasks'
  get 'archived', to: 'tasks#archived', as: 'archived_tasks'

root 'tasks#index'

I have two scenarios that are causing me quite a bit of confusion.

Originally, I had the list of tasks from tasks#index on the projects/show view (It felt icky), which worked and showed what it need to show, but trying to filter out completed/archived tasks would not work.

TasksController.rb

def index
    @tasks = if params[:completed].present?
               Task.completed.newest
             elsif params[:archived].present?
               Task.archived.newest
             else
               Task.not_completed.not_archived.newest
             end
  end

So I changed approach and looked at nesting the route.

resources :projects do
    resources :tasks do
      member do
        put 'complete'
        put 'incomplete'
        put 'archive'
      end
    end
  end