about duplication in a (HABTM) join table

I'm new to rails and databases, needless to say I'm pretty confused here. There's this issue I don't understand how to resolve, heck I don't even know if it's an issue. I've also been searching for answers here, forums, irc, and nothing. Anyway I'll try to be as clear as I can be. And I apologize for the many questions in one thread.

Let's say I have two tables, girls and boys (to spicy up this topic), with their respective models, which in turn have a has_and_belongs_to_many relationship. For that relationship to work, I have a join table called boys_girls, with two columns, boy_id and girl_id.

in rails, I create a boy called brad, and a girl called angelina. now if I do: brad.girls << angelina brad.girls << angelina

not only will angelina be two times in his array (if only this stuff could be in real life), but that relationship will appear in two rows on the join table.

First question: as far as database performance and size goes, is this a problem?

Anyway, if I add uniq => true to has_and_belongs_to_many on the models, ActiveRecord will successfully ignore this duplication when I reload the objects. But it will still act the same way as I said before: if I add duplication, it will show up in the existing array and it will be added to the table.

So, my second question is, how do I avoid this duplication?

I found in the agile web dev book that I can add an index to the join table right in the migration, and add :unique => true after the add_index call. I have tried it, and no difference. I suppose it only configures the index to ignore duplicates, which would then resolve performance issues?

Also, I have read that validates_uniqueness_of accepts various columns with scope, but I'm not sure how to do that, and also, am I right to say that scope only helps to limit uniqueness to given sets of rows? In that case that wouldn't help, right?