Why there is no simple default auth in Rails?

Hello, I’m a Rails newbie.

I wonder why there is no simple auth (sign-in, sign-up, restore password) in the Rails app?

I found that I need to use devise but it’s too complicated for me, and would be much nicer to add auth option for new rails apps like:

rails new my_app --auth

The same like in Laravel.

Also, devise is not supported yet in Rails 7 yet? (I might be wrong).

Thanks.

6 Likes

Devise is the de-facto standard for Rails and it’s simple to use:

https://github.com/heartcombo/devise#getting-started

We’ve been using it for 10+ years without any problems and it will certainly support Rails 7.

1 Like

He is not wrong though? It still would be nice having a quick generator for doing auth? Rails is known for having bunch of useful generators actionmailer, activestorage

This something that been coming up time and time again for a very long time. What’s even crazy here is that many of the rails alternative and some of them even rails-inspired are nowadays offering a quick way scaffolding auth.

4 Likes

This is the bug with Rails 7:

https://github.com/heartcombo/devise/pull/5397

You can comment there.

I so agree with this. For some reason #DHH has decided that login, authentication, user management, etc. are all outside the scope. But basically every single rails app has that (which you can’t say about document uploading (active storage), emailing (active mail), and other built-ins. And pointing to devise doesn’t do it for me. Last I tried (and based on more recent blogs etc.) devise is not for everyone, it is very (overly) complicated for most apps. But I asked this question on this site (or another one) several years ago and was told to forget about it, it’s never gonna happen.

4 Likes