Using group_to() and aggregation for a simple inventory system @ a field hospital in Haiti

Hi, I'm pretty much a Rails newbie here...

I put together a very simple pharmaceutical inventory system for a field hospital in Haiti. When we first started, there was nothing but a list of medicines that were known to be on site. Now, a group started a robust inventory and I need to present the results differently.

I have the following tables and fields:

Model: Medicine Table: medicines Fields, id, name has_many :stocks

Model: Stock Table: stocks Fields: id, medicine_id, route_id, strength, amount_received, amount_dispensed belongs_to :medicine belongs_to :route

Model: Route Table: routes Fields: id, name has_many :stocks

The "stocks" table is used as a pharmacy log -- people check out medicines that they take for patients and check in medicines that arrive as donations. I currently have a method in the Medicine model that looks like this:

def amount_on_hand     stocks.to_a.sum { |rec| (rec.amount_received - rec.amount_dispensed)}   end

On the page that lists all of the medicines, I call medicine.amount_on_hand to display a generic number of how many units of that type of medicine are on hand.

... Ibuprofen -- 500 Morphine -- 1000 etc....

There now are over 700 types of medicine on hand and many of them come in a variety of routes and strengths. Routes are: oral tablet, oral suspension, IV, intramuscular, etc.... Strengths are: 50mg, 20mg/dL, etc.... The strength field in the stocks table is a text field. There are so many different strengths that it wasn't feasible to standardize that at the outset.

Now, I need to group the stocks that relate to each medicine by Route and then try to perform aggregate sums based on the strength. In other words, it might look like:

Ibuprofen -- Oral Tablet -- 200 mg -- 1000 -- Oral Tablet -- 500 mg -- 200 -- Oral Suspension -- 50 mg/dL -- 45

Morphine -- Inject -- 2mg/dL -- 450 -- Inject -- 4mg/dL -- 800

etc...