TextMate vs EMACS vs RadRails

Hi everyone, I’m new to web programming, actually I haven’t even started yet, but I intend to do it with Ruby on Rails.

So my question is, which of the 3, TextMate, EMACS or RadRails, would you choose, and why?

And can I build and run codes on TextMate and EMACS?

This is a holy war that starts up about every other week on this list. You'll find people insisting that their favorite development environment is better than anyone else's. It depends on how you prefer to work.

I personally find it most productive and satisfying using RubyMine. I end up googling a lot less, and I end up writing more accurate code the first time. The debugger is also really convenient. YMMV.

(Over the last couple years, I've also used and abandoned TextMate, RadRails, and Netbeans.)

+1 for RubyMine by the way, it’s on sale until this Sunday for 50% off

Thank you for the tip guys, when I have some time to finally start my web programming i’ll try it out.

Tell me something, can I write HTML code with RubyMine to make a simple web page?

I’m asking that cause that’s the first thing I’m learning, HTML.

Yes, you can.

BTW: RubyMine +1

Rodrigo Ruiz wrote in post #994581:

Thank you for the tip guys, when I have some time to finally start my web programming i'll try it out.

Tell me something, can I write HTML code with RubyMine to make a simple web page? I'm asking that cause that's the first thing I'm learning, HTML.

You can write HTML with ANYTHING that can edit text. Same for Ruby, CSS and JavaScript. Yes, there are tools that help you with navigation around your project, auto-competion, etc. But, none of them are required to develop web sites with Ruby on Rails.

I'm still a TextMate user. I refuse to use any IDE written in Java when given a choice. I pretty much have to use them for my day job, but I have always hated Java applications. Yes, I use them almost every day, but I still despise having to use them, ANY of them.