RESTful Application Design Question

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to Rails and decided I wanted to give it a go for a fairly simple internal application that I want to refine and use it as the building blocks for possible future applications.

The application will act, for now at least, as webservice API used by external applications to POST and GET data. After watching DHH 2006 Rails conference talk I liked the fact that you could use one piece of code with different interfaces. However I feel like I'm coming up against difficultly modeling my domain and the interaction with the external application yet still allowing room for a web interface if required down the road.

Essentially what we have are error reporting applications out in the field where those applications are tied to a specific location. The application knows its location and what it is, it looks to use that information to post an error report. The current php version of this application simply posts the data as an Error Report. Doing so kicks off a trigger that inserts into a summary table if the application and location doesn't exist.

With that in mind Here is my current vision for the model.

Location (1) --> (1 .. *) Application (1) --> (0 .. *) Error Report

The problem is a new location and application can come online without being placed into the database prior to reporting an error. Thus the question is, should the external reporting application check to see if its Location and Application exists in the database first by searching, then creating new Location and Application records if required and then POSTing the Error Report? That seems very verbose. It would be nice to simply POST the error report and if required the related data objects created.

My questions:

1) Is this possible? 2) If it is possible would it be considered bad practice to have the creation of a resource create other resources? 3) Might there a better way to solve this problem that I just can't see?

Sincerely, Michael