render :partial => :url - is it possible?

Hi, this is my first post to the list. I'm still learning the rails framework, having done most of my previous web development in PHP. I've done a bit of googling for the answer to this question, but maybe I'm just lacking the right word to search for.

Several parts of my site, such as sidebar components, are self-contained, modularized and re-used in several parts of the site. The sidebar is part of the layout (I'm using the nested_layout plugin), rather than the page view.

# /app/layouts/layout_3_col.rhtml <div class='col_left col'><div class='inner'> <%= render :partial => @col_left_partial || 'col_left' %> </div></div>

However this means I need to generate the data for the sidebar components within each model, and not more-cleanly in a separate model for the sidebar component itself.

What I am after is a system where I could create a separate model, view and controller for each sidebar component and then call render :url => /sidebars/left_col/3

I'm assuming a similar approach would be used in AJAX, where you replace a DIV with a HTML fragment generated on the server, but would want to show the fragment as part of the original page without generating a series of AJAX requests on page load.

Is this possible in rails, whats the technique called (so I can google for it) or am I going about it the wrong way.

Thanks in advance.

Hi, this is my first post to the list. I'm still learning the rails framework, having done most of my previous web development in PHP. I've done a bit of googling for the answer to this question, but maybe I'm just lacking the right word to search for.

Several parts of my site, such as sidebar components, are self-contained, modularized and re-used in several parts of the site. The sidebar is part of the layout (I'm using the nested_layout plugin), rather than the page view.