redesigning a php app

I am redesigning a php app in RoR. I am brand new to both Ruby and Rails. There is a front end to the app with the typical MVC kind of interactions between end users and a database. There is also backend processing that happens independent of any user interaction. My question is, does the RoR framework make any sense for this backend processing seeing as there wouldn't really be any "views"? I don't want to code in two languages unnecessarily but I also don't want to force something into a mold for which it is not designed. Does RoR for backend processing make sense? If not, what does?

Hi Kenneth,

Oops. Continuing...

Hi Kenneth,

I am redesigning a php app in RoR. I am brand new to both Ruby and Rails. There is a front end to the app with the typical MVC kind of interactions between end users and a database. There is also backend processing that happens independent of any user interaction. My question is, does the RoR framework make any sense for this backend processing seeing as there wouldn't really be any "views"? I don't want to code in two languages unnecessarily but I also don't want to force something into a mold for which it is not designed. Does RoR for backend processing make sense? If not, what does?

My short answer is yes. My current app provides two sorts of what I think you mean when you say 'backend processing.' script/runner gives us access to the Rails app outside the 'interactive user' model.

In the first case there a user requests a report. That request is queued via the Background job plugin. When the Background job runs, it creates the report and then emails it to the requester.

In the second case, we have cron jobs that also call script/runner to do nightly database maintenance; removing accounts that have been canceled, etc.

If you've got a specific case you're wondering how you'd handle, feel free to ask about it.

HTH, Bill

Oops. Continuing...

> Hi Kenneth,