Rating Model and DB Relationships

I am still learning Rails and the relationships are still a little confusion. So I apologize in advance for the repetition of this question.

I am building a user rating system for words and quotes. If I wanted a user to be able to rate a word or quote only once, how can I set up the ratings table so it will have the appropriate relationships. Since the rating model is a bit polymorphic (rate words or quotes), I am not sure if I need a "bridge table". I want to be able to do things like

word.rating.value quote.rating.value user.rating.value

Any direction is greatly appreciated, and if you can throw in some comments behind the code, even better. Also, would you suggest putting the only one rating per user constraint in the db or as a validate_unique..

Thanks, Jason

To quickly answer your second question, you need both. The reason for that is that validates_uniqueness_of does not guarantee fully unique column values, since it's at the application level. The unique constraint in the db schema can be viewed as a backup.

I'll answer your main question shortly.

Thanks for the initial response. I look forward to the main answer.

Srdjan Pejic wrote: [...]

The unique constraint in the db schema can be viewed as a backup.

I'll answer your main question shortly.

A philosophical quibble: in my opinion, it is the unique constraint in the DB that should be considered primary. The validation in the application layer is only there to prevent the DB from throwing duplicate key errors. Application-level validation cannot replace a properly constructed database schema.

I'll get off my soapbox now...I just want to make it clear that the database layer is the *only* place where it is possible to have airtight integrity checking.

Best,

I appreciate the debate, and I agree the constraint should be the DB as a primary.

Back to my main question though - how should the relationships be set up for a rating system?