Rails with Ajax

Hi all,

I am quite new to Rails.

The code below loads a set of data from the database. When I click on one of the item from db, it will load more details of same item from database and display in the <div> next to it.

See listings below to see code snippet:

listing 1(search.html.erb)

Is that a “j” after the = ??

Javier Q.

Well, you go here, right?

yourapp.com/search ?

Then the @group_trace is nil because it’s not created until you run the loader action.

Linus Pettersson wrote in post #1044801:

Well, you go here, right? yourapp.com/search ?

Then the @group_trace is nil because it's not created until you run the loader action.

Does this mean the logic of this app is wrong, how else can I do this right?

Javier Quarite wrote in post #1044799:

Well, the code in the search view is executed when the view is rendered. It is not executed again when you inject the html using javascript.

So the if @group_trace code is only executed when the search view is rendered and @group_trace is not created yet.

What are you actually trying to achieve? What do you want to do with the if @group_trace code part? Why not just remove it? You’re still adding the data by injecting the html using javascript.

Linus Pettersson wrote in post #1045014:

Well, the code in the search view is executed when the view is rendered. It is not executed again when you inject the html using javascript. So the if @group_trace code is only executed when the search view is rendered and @group_trace is not created yet.

What are you actually trying to achieve? What do you want to do with the if @group_trace code part? Why not just remove it? You're still adding the data by injecting the html using javascript.

If I remove it, it throws a nil object exception which basically means the object is empty.

I just want to click on this link in search.html.erb: