rails threads / contexts / fastcgi - can someone explain ???

Hi,

I'm not a FastCGI expert, but I'll try to answer your questions as best I can.

Would someone be able to explain how ruby class/object contexts work from the point of view of a deployed rails application using FASTCGI and noting there are multiple Ruby processes running (say on dreamhost for example). Some questions to help clarify what I'm trying to understand:

a) how do incoming URL requests get spread across the multiple Ruby processes (let's say there are 5 processes)?

By whatever's in front of the processes. If you're using lighttpd/fastcgi, for example, lighttpd will do the balancing across the multiple rails fastcgi listeners.

b) What component organising/manages this? (e.g. plugin in apache?)

c) is there any 'stickness' that occurs? i.e. where a request from person A that goes to ruby process 2 the first time will go to process 2 again for the next person A request (I assume no?)

That's going to depend on the particular implementation. I haven't seen it implemented anywhere, but that doesn't mean that someone hasn't done so.

d) is there any sharing of contexts between the ruby processes? i.e. Can a ruby class variable be "seen" across processes?

By default, no. You can use an in-memory cache accessible by all listeners (on the same box).

e) is there any equivalent to the java static class variable (which can be accessed from any user request coming in which is being hosted within the same web-container on the same JVM)? I understand there isn't an equivalent in ruby?

I'm not sure what you're asking here. There are class variables in ruby.

f) does the running ruby process handle multiple simultaneous user requests at the same time? i.e. is it operating in a multi-threaded mode?

It doesn't.