Radio button onclick....

i am trying to do some thing with radio button.

my main tergate is that i have 2 radio button and 2 text field. when i click on a radio button1, then the corrosponding text field say text1 will b active, and another text field say text2 will b inactive.

and again when if we click on the other radio button2 then the corrosponding text field say text2 will be active and text1 will b inactive.......

NOTE : Basically i am very new in Ruby On Rails..so i cant do this. if anyone kindly hepl me i will be very much thankful to him/her

Soutom Soutom wrote:

my main tergate is that i have 2 radio button and 2 text field. when i click on a radio button1, then the corrosponding text field say text1 will b active, and another text field say text2 will b inactive.

and again when if we click on the other radio button2 then the corrosponding text field say text2 will be active and text1 will b inactive.......

NOTE : Basically i am very new in Ruby On Rails..so i cant do this. if anyone kindly hepl me i will be very much thankful to him/her

have a look at jQuery, which is perfect for this sort of thing. You'll need to know a little bit of javascript (syntax mainly) but that's pretty much essential for web dev.

You could set up the html as follows (this is inside a form):

<%# checked by default %> <%= radio_button_tag "field", 1, true, {:id => "button1"} %> <%= text_field_tag :field1, "", {:id => "field1"} %> <br/>

<%= radio_button_tag "field", 2, false, {:id => "button2"} %> <%# disabled by default %> <%= text_field_tag :field1, "", {:id => "field2", :disabled => true} %>

then, at the top of the page, you could have the following script (obviously it will only work once you've installed jQuery)

<script> //disable text_field 2 (and enable 1) when button 1 is clicked jQuery("#button1:checked").each(function()   jQuery("#field2")[0].disabled = true;   jQuery("#field1")[0].disabled = false; });