Project Guidance for Youth Center Survey

Hello,

I am excited to be learning Ruby on Rails!

I have no prior programming knowledge or experience, but I was able to follow the examples in a couple of books and get most of the same outcomes that were illustrated...I think the variances were due to updates of some of the components in addition to my neophyte status...

I have literally felt my brain ache as I struggle to grasp the larger concepts of Object Oriented Programming, but I am determined to take the examples from the books and transition them into a working knowledge base.

I have a project that I would like to tackle, and I look forward to anyone recommending specific concepts to review that I can use to develop my project.

I would like to create a web application that uses MySQL to store responses to two or three survey questions, and displays results graphically using AJAX (no page redraws).

I volunteer at an inner-city youth center that works with at-risk youth to help them stay away from negative influences and peer pressure. The youth center managers would like to make sure that they are meeting the needs of the members. A survey engine can be an objective (and anonymous) resource to receive candid feedback and new program ideas.

The first survey that I have in mind (working title, "GED Session") would contain the following questions:

1) Which GED Session do you attend? (Radio or check box options - Morning - Afternoon - Evening) [Survey will only be made available to students actually enrolled in the program].

2) Was this GED Session your first choice? (Radio or check box options - Yes - No). If they select the 'No' answer, some additional survey questions would appear without a page redraw.

2a) Which GED Session was your first choice? (Radio or check box options would appear for the two options THAT WERE NOT CHECKED in Question One - I presume that the application would be looking at the object 'stored' from Question One response).