Production install (RoR + Oracle + IIS)

Hi.

Although an expert developer for IBM systems (iSeries) I am VERY new to RoR and somehow to the PC development world as well and not familiar AT ALL with PC configurations, etc. (in my regular job good ol' IBM takes care of all that and I just need to code). So forgive me if any of the following sounds stupid, it probably is. Just get a laugh at my expense and try to answer between roll and roll on the floor.

I am developing a very simple application (1 main table and some other ones used for drop downs and data verification) for an intranet with just a few users. I have spent countless hours finding information/ documentation on using Oracle and IIS with RoR. Got helpful links that helped me through some problems but install time is approaching and since configuration is not my strength I would like to know if there is a kind soul that would be willing to shed some light on this type of configuration and some other questions. Here they are:

1. Do I need Mongrel, Mongrel clustering, both (supposing they are different things) or none by using IIS? 2. Could I run Apache and IIS at the same time and use Apache for my RoR application and forget IIS? If yes, would that cause any problems to existing code using IIS and also how can I direct the requests to the appropriate server without having to type the port number in the URL? 3. The table I'm working with has an ID column that is NOT numeric and IT IS primary key. Has anybody tried in the model self.primary_key = "id"? If yes, does that make RoR ignore all the ID stuff it does behind the scenes or does it say "mmm... trying to be smarter than me?" and still does its magic?

Now, if you can stop laughing I would appreciate some feedback and any other type of helpful information on the subject.

Thanks a lot.

You may want to buy this book and read through it before going too far: