Problems I have had in trying to advocate Rails based solutions:

Here is some problems I have had in trying to advocate why Rails should be used over PHP or hacking some other open source code:

1. I realized I didn't give a good argument for why Rails is much faster and I don't know exactly how to present that. I could have said something like "I built a website for my band in less than 2 weeks and it had advanced administrative capability". It seems hard to convince people who haven't been either convinced by others, articles and so on or who have not done anything with Rails.

2. I am not an expert on scalability and was able to say with certainty what can scale, how it would scale etc. I'll I know is that there are numerous scaleabilty solutuions and that I have only read about memcahced and have never done any of that. Most of my experience has been in C++ and I only started web development in the last year.

3. I feel apprehensive about advocating a technology to a team of developers that they are not at all familiar with, on a project where there are numerous uncertainties. In fact I had to advocate PHP symfony or cakePHP which are Rails based frameworks done in PHP because we had other open source PHP codebases and it seemed there was a push for a PHP codebase. Using PHP frameworks I am not familiar with introduces more uncertainties even though these frameworks should be very similar to Rails. I perhaps fear that if something goes wrong or something unexpected comes up, I could get blamed for it if I advocated using a framework and there was some issue surrounding that or associated with that. This particular underlying anxiety of mine perhaps translated into me not strongly pushing an MVC solution as much as I would otherwise.

Here is some problems I have had in trying to advocate why Rails should be used over PHP or hacking some other open source code: