problem with mass asignment

Hi everyone. I'm new in ruby and recently faced with mass assignment problem. Below I attached a sample code similar to mine. Could you explain me what should I use in require method??? is it a name of model(person) or a variable name which I assign result(person = current_account.people.find(params[:id])) or maybe it should be an object attribute like @person??? Because I used various types but always have the same error. The second question - is it necessary to give the same name for private method def person_params as the name of (person_params) for db update? thx

class PeopleController < ActionController::Base

def update     person = current_account.people.find(params[:id])     person.update_attributes!(person_params)     redirect_to person   end

private

def person_params       params.require(:person).permit(:name, :age)     end end

Normally it is the name of the model, as in the example shown. If you can't get that to work show us some code (just the relevant bits, should not need more than a dozen lines or so) and the error you are getting.

Colin

Colin Law wrote in post #1180931:

Hi everyone. I'm new in ruby and recently faced with mass assignment problem. Below I attached a sample code similar to mine. Could you explain me what should I use in require method??? is it a name of model(person)

Normally it is the name of the model, as in the example shown. If you can't get that to work show us some code (just the relevant bits, should not need more than a dozen lines or so) and the error you are getting.

Colin

def contact     if params.present?       item_params = params[:data]       item = Page.create(item_params)     end     render 'index/contact'   end

private

def item_params         params.require(:item).permit(:name,:description)       end

Attachments: http://www.ruby-forum.com/attachment/11243/1453873666654.jpg

Hi everyone. I’m new in ruby and recently faced with mass assignment