newbie stumped - when form validates, normally return is fine, but when I select a certain checkbox, I end up with a new object created on return

I'm really stumped here. I'm new to Rails and I'm sure I'm doing something stupid but what's going on seems like voodoo or something. When you click on "new match" the controller makes a call to set up two new objects to be populated. You're brought to your form (see figure 1). When you submit a form with improper validation, typically things work fine - validation errors show up and you are returned to the form with the two objects populated with what you had, and the errors display (see figure 2.)

The part that has me so stumped is that when you happen to check the "home" checkbox and you submit, I end up with an extra object created when validation fails! (see figure 3, you'll see the extra player game object column.) I have no idea why, and I have no idea why selecting this checkbox causes it to happen? Why does only this form field cause the problem and not the other form fields???

figure 1: Skitch | Evernote figure 2: Skitch | Evernote figure 3: Skitch | Evernote

Can someone give me some tips as to what even might be wrong or where I should start to look? I have some log statements and the same flow seems to happen regardless of the scenario.

I posted the main controller and a few other things that I think might be relevant here http://pastie.org/335194 in case anyway wants to help by taking a look.

The log doesn't show much that seems to help me. Here is the log http://pastie.org/335259 after the "create" button is hit and the form submits. Notice at the end you'll see "3" calls to something like:

Compiling template _run_erb_47app47views47matches47_player_game46html46erb_locals_g_object_player_game   [4;36;1mCACHE (0.0ms)[0m [0;1mSELECT * FROM "players" ORDER BY first_name ASC[0m   [4;35;1mCACHE (0.0ms)[0m [0mSELECT * FROM "teams" ORDER BY name ASC[0m