Newbie question - VirtualRails

Hi,

Have been trying to set up Linux on my Windows machine, using VirtualBox..

Installed VirtualRails to give it a try as well..

I did notice VR was using Rails version 2.3.4 rather than 2.3.5 (rails -v gives 2.3.4) as specified on Some of VR's documentation (some places mention rails 2.3.4 and some rails 2.3.5, like here: http://groups.google.com/group/rubyonrails-talk/browse_frm/thread/9fcc04508132033d/d5e9a52f44764924?tvc=1#d5e9a52f44764924 )

Have been trying to update to rails 2.3.5 using gem install and gem update, specifying the version.. but so far didn't manage to do so.. I'm not sure how as well, being a complete newbie to Linux, and also afraid to cause any damage.. was also afraid to update gems I do not wish to update or to update rails to 2.3.8 while I wanted 2.3.5 and don't feel confident I know how to change it back yet..

Maybe it's not an issue and I should do with rails 2.3.4.. now I'm also curious to know how and whether this should be done at all

Any comments and replies will be very much appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks!

Best, tino.

Have been trying to update to rails 2.3.5 using gem install and gem update, specifying the version.. but so far didn't manage to do so..

What did you try, and why do you think it didn't work?

I'm not sure how as well, being a complete newbie to Linux, and also afraid to cause any damage.. was also afraid to update gems I do not wish to update or to update rails to 2.3.8 while I wanted 2.3.5 and don't feel confident I know how to change it back yet..

1) `gem --help` should show you how to update gems

2) One of the whole points of using a VM like VirtualBox is the ability     to take "snapshots" of the state of the system. Install a fresh version     of VirtualRails, confirm it works, then take a snapshot.

Now you can do anything you like, and worst case you revert to     that snapshot. It's like git for your OS :slight_smile:

FWIW,

@Hassan - Thanks :slight_smile: