New to Ruby on Rails - Assigning variation (like size or color) to products

Hey Everyone,

I'm completely new to ruby. I'm building my 1st little app to aid the learning process (nothing like learning by doing) and to support others who want to raise a little seed money to fund traction efforts without equity or debt strings attached I'm plugging away trying to learn the basics of Rails for the last couple of weeks and have realized that I simply to don't know enough Ruby, to truly build what I'm trying to build.

I need help with two things:

#1 - Can you all recommend your Top 3 "must have" books that will help me become more proficient with in the actual language of ruby and ruby recipes. Suggestions on books that aid in exploring Active Record in depth would also be humbly appreciated.

#2 - As mentioned, I'm building a little store. I'm trying to allow users to select a unique size for the t-shirt. I'm using version 3.2.1

I've created a model called product_variation and tried to use the new 'store' -- i.e., ActiveRecord::Base.store for declaring simple single-column key/value stores (which I think is new in 3.2.1)     THEN I even an entire whole scaffold, called product_instance - to sit between product & line_item to attempt to create a "special instance of the product" (i.e., category -> product -> product_instance -> line_item -> cart -> order).

No luck in making the actual connection. I know this has EVERYTHING to do with me being new to the language, but If could get a little guidance on how to resolve this it would be extremely appreciated.

GIT HUB: Here is my git hub link https://github.com/kisha/seedtp_alpha2 (the tag for the sizes is there but the logic behind it is blowing up)     HEROKU: Here is yesterday's version of the site on heroku (made a few adjustments but just so that you have a visual) http://stproject.herokuapp.com

Again, Thanks in advance for the help

Sincere Regards, Kisha

Hi Kisha,