New To Rails - Question

Hello all,

I’m new to the framework; but work as a PM in my full time job using other tech stacks.

What I’m trying to wrap my mind around is the use of ERB in Rails applications. With the wide spread use of SPA front ends like Vue, React, and Angular, it seems like serving html.erb files from the back end is not as common as it probably once was.

Is it more common in 2021 to use Rails as only an API to consume requests from a front end framework? If so, do you utilize the --api mode rather than the standard build?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Rendering server side is still very relevant today. For many “Rails with JavaScript sprinkles” applications, client-side frameworks such as React or Vue add unneeded complexity. For those cases you can render server side and add SPA-like JavaScript behavior with libraries such as Basecamp’s new Hotwire, see their blog announcement:

2 Likes

Our app is an SPA in react but for admin pages & such, we find it much faster to write pages for server generation (we use HAML rather than ERB). It’s also handy for public pages where SEO is important.

1 Like

Agree with the comments above. FE/BE partitioning is one of the fine arts of coding data/server-based apps. As a Ruby coder, my preference is to concentrate on the data structures and controller functionality and hire a FE guy to make it pretty and vibrant and all the rest of it.

You shouldn’t try to know everything, IMHO. Better to stick to one or the other, rather than being mediocre at both.

I looked into HAML and the syntax is nice. I’ll have a dig a little deeper into it

This is a good point. Makes me think of the phrase, “jack of all trades, master of none”.

I personally agree with that sentiment but it certainly doesn’t preclude said FE dev using server-rendered ERB.

Agreed! That’s in addition to ERB, not in place of. I used to do LAMP with PHP… came to really appreciate the elegance of interleaved code and HTML. Ruby is even better!