Moving View Logic into Controller

Hello,

Rails Best Practices is telling me to move some code from one of my helper views into the controller. I was hoping to get some assistance as I'm unsure how to do this and still have the application work.

The helper: http://pastie.org/private/pfub9iklus5ajuu1iwvfza

The report says I need to move the second and third lines into the controller, but if I do that, how does the rest of the code know how to work?

Thanks, Andrew Davis

Hi Andrew,

Since I'm still learning, here is my attempt, is this what you are trying to say?

http://pastie.org/private/hiqrzql2zb4qv5gr1drpa

I think I understand what you're saying, just not sure if I'm doing that correctly.

Yes. That's it. Do your best to keep logic out of the views. It will make your application more testable. The selection of data sets is one type of logic.

HTH, Bill

Thank you very much Bill for your assistance, it is greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Andrew Davis

You're welcome, Andrew. Welcome to the Rails community.

Best regards, Bill

Bill, that doesn't seem to be working. It seemed to be at first until I tried to do more with the application.

My shared/_task_orders.html.erb <ul type="none">   <% @all_task_orders.each do |task_order| %>     <% unless task_order.year != @last_task_order.year %>       <li>&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp <%=h link_to "#{task_order.name}", task_order_criteria_path(task_order) %> - <%=h task_order.year %> Q<%=h task_order.quarter %></li>     <% end %>   <% end %> </ul> <br />

My task_orders_controller class TaskOrdersController < ApplicationController ...   def index     @task_orders = TaskOrder.search(params[:search], params[:page])     @last_task_order = TaskOrder.find(:first)     @all_task_orders = TaskOrder.all   end ... end

I'm getting: NoMethodError in Criteria#index

Showing app/views/shared/_task_orders.html.erb where line #2 raised: