Moving code to model from controller

Hi    Last day I read an article says that business logic should be in model Till now my coding method was writing complete code in controller and nothing in model I would like to change that style. Sorry now only I became aware of that, since I am not an expert programmer and also and of self learning process. My current code in controller is as below This for creating a problem

def create     begin       ActiveRecord::Base.transaction do         @problem=Problem.new(params[:problem])         @problem.save!         @problem.update_attribute("number","PB"+ @problem.id.to_s)       end #end of transaction       rescue ActiveRecord::ActiveRecordError => e:         puts 'Error' +e.to_s         render :action => 'create_ui'       else         redirect_to(:action => 'show_problem_ui', :id => @problem.id)     end #end of begin end

Could anybody please tell me how can I shift the above code to Problem model and follow the proper MVC pattern .The above code is minimal but in almost all parts of the code I have followed the same pattern ie write complete code in controller And if I get any good rails programming practises links that will be helpful

Thanks in advance Sijo

In this case, the only thing that the controller is doing that the model could/should is setting the problem number. Since the problem number should be set any time a problem is created, move that logic into an after_create callback inside the model.

class Problem < ActiveRecord::Base … after_create :set_problem_number … private

def set_problem_number self.number = “PB#{self.id}”

save!

end end

I’d use a callback in the model instead of using an observer in this case because setting the problem number is work done to the model. If, for example, we wanted to log a message or send a notification of some kind, I’d use an observer, since that kind of work is not done to the model.