Migrate seems to work but doesn't

I'd be very grateful for some help. I am a newbie working through Agile Web Development with Rails 2nd edition.

As far as I know I have all the compatible versions of things installed including RadRails 0.7.2. I have got up to page 81 and everything works correctly.

I am now trying migrate/003_add_test_data.rb and have copied the code from the website. When I do the migrate it appears to complete OK, but when I inspect the DB, the table is empty. This is very worrying. 1. Shouldn't the migrate give an error message if it failed? 2. Why is it not working?

Here is the code:

class AddTestData < ActiveRecord::Migration   def self.up     Product.delete_all

Product.create(:title => 'Pragmatic Project Automation',     :description =>     %{<p>        <em>Pragmatic Project Automation</em> shows you how to improve the        consistency and repeatability of your project's procedures using        automation to reduce risk and errors.       </p>       <p>         Simply put, we're going to put this thing called a computer to work         for you doing the mundane (but important) project stuff. That means         you'll have more time and energy to do the really         exciting---and difficult---stuff, like writing quality code.       </p>},     :image_url => '/images/auto.jpg',     :price => 29.95)

Product.create(:title => 'Pragmatic Version Control',     :description =>       %{<p>          This book is a recipe-based approach to using Subversion that will          get you up and running quickly---and correctly. All projects need          version control: it's a foundational piece of any project's          infrastructure. Yet half of all project teams in the U.S. don't use          any version control at all. Many others don't use it well, and end          up experiencing time-consuming problems.       </p>},     :image_url => '/images/svn.jpg',     :price => 28.50)     # . . .