Making a New Site

Hi, I'm kind of new to Ruby on Rails, I've been slowly learning it for a while now, and think I am ready to further my learning, by actually attempting to make a site. I've already made a site and styled it, I only need to now include the code behind it. I figure there is only so much you can learn, before you actually start to put it in practice, and once I start to code this site, I'll learn things on the way. I heard ruby has one of the greatest and strongest communities surrounding it, so I look forward to your guys help.

Before, I make this site though, I don't know where to get started. The site will be a game site, and I'd hoped to just load all of the flash swf's into a folder, then use controllers to call each one. I plan on having tons of game though, so is there an easier way to generate urls for them, and creating an index page that will list games? Could I create a database that includes columns such as path to .swf, title, description, and genre? Then automatically call them, when the user types in a path.

For example, - the user types in the address http://site.com/games/billysadventure or clicks on a automatically generated link -Ruby on Rails then knows to look for the entry billysadventure in the database -Ruby takes the rest of the info for the entry and displays it in it's correct locations on the page

If this is really complex, I don't expect you to write out specific instructions, but if it's reasonable, that would be really, really nice. Otherwise, could you at least point me in necessary directions, so I can find out the way to do everything. Thanks for all or any help or comments. Let me know if I am unclear, and I'll restate it. Thanks again, Connor

I'm sorry if I was unclear, or am I posting this in the wrong area. Please any help or comments would be appreciated...Can anyone point me in the right direction on what will be involved with that type of site?

Thanks again...