Limiting table to just one row?

I'm new at RoR, so please excuse me if this is a very basic question. I've tried some googling, but haven't found an answer yet.

Is there any established, or preferred way to limit a table to have one and only one row? I have some default values that I will use in multiple places in my app, and I want to be able to modify them during production, so I don't want to hard code them. So I made a "Defaults" model. I can simply limit my code to only accessing the first row, but it seems cleaner to me if there's someway to prevent more than one row from existing.

Is the best/easiest way just to add a validate method in the model that checks on creating if there's already an entry in the database, and returns an error? Or is there some simpler way I'm overlooking?

Thank you in advance!

Are these constant variables that won't change during execution? If so, you can just put them in your config/environment.rb, defined in all caps. It sounds like a bad idea to continually hit the database just to grab a few constants.

If you rely on them to be mutable, you're effectively creating global variables which is a sign that you should probably refactor your code.

If you really, really want to go down this route, you can trap the before_create event on your Default model so that no new records can get made. It doesn't others from inserting rows from outside rails.

They could change during execution.

They're some default values that we will use when creating some models (they are percentages for allocating a budget into several categories). Changing the values won't affect already created budgets, but will affect new budgets.

I don't want to hard code them in environment.rb, because I'd like "less technical" people to change them while the app is live.

How would you refactor this then?

Thanks for the advice!