Last piece of the pie! javascript no longer works after page.replace_html

Hi there,

I have one last remaining problem to solve before I'm code complete on an application I've been working on for a few months, and I need your help.

I have a page that contains a list of entries and a form at the top that uses form_remote_tag to allow users to add new entries via AJAX. When the user submits the form, the list of entries is updated from the controller using render :update and the same partial that was used to initially render the page. The entries in the list are draggable, at least they are BEFORE the entry list is updated as a result of AJAX call.

After the AJAX call is complete, the list entries are no longer draggable. I am using jQuery and Prototype, jQuery for the drag and drop. The javascript drag and drop code is in my application.js file. If i move the javascript in-line into the partial that generates the list of entries, after a form submit, the entries are still draggable, but that has its own set of problems and i don't want to do that.

Why would the drag and drop no longer work after the AJAX call when I'm using the same partial that was used to render the page when all the drag and drop javascript is in the application.js?

I tried as an alternate solution using :update as part of the form_remote_tag in the view but that didn't work either.

Any help solving this last problem would be greatly appreciated.

Regards, -A

Presumably when you load the page the first time round, some sort of initialisation occurs that marks the elements as draggable (ie installs various event handlers and what not). When you replace the list, you would need to do that initialisation on the new dom elements.

Fred