Is there a serialization Example for Rails 3.0?

Hi all,

I am new to ruby and rails coming from a perl background.

I was hoping someone could help point me to some sample code to serialize data from a form. My plan is to write a tiny app to generate Cisco switch configuration files based on a template.

Below is what I have found so far based on what I could find.

Unfortunately the form does not automagically re-insert the values after they are saved. I noticed other people commenting about the same feature. Is there a better way of doing this?

How would I create an array of vlans under the variable configuration using the form? I am planning on adding an "add vlan" button which reloads the same form, but I am not sure of the syntax.

Any pointers would be helpful.

Thanks in advance,

Regards

Andrew

Hi all,

I am new to ruby and rails coming from a perl background.

I was hoping someone could help point me to some sample code to serialize data from a form. My plan is to write a tiny app to generate Cisco switch configuration files based on a template.

Below is what I have found so far based on what I could find.

Unfortunately the form does not automagically re-insert the values after they are saved. I noticed other people commenting about the same feature. Is there a better way of doing this?

You might try passing @switch.configuration, :configuration to fields_for. Why use serialize though, rather than make those things attributes of the switches table?

How would I create an array of vlans under the variable configuration using the form? I am planning on adding an "add vlan" button which reloads the same form, but I am not sure of the syntax.

If vlans are a separate table (with an association with switches) then accepts_nested_attributed makes this sort of thing pretty easy. I believe there's a railcard that covers one way of handling the client side portion of adding new form thingies on the fly

Fred

Hi Fred,