Inline symbols

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Ruby, cucumber, and WebDriver and ran into what seems to be a Ruby issue. It doesn't seem to be handling my .intern or .to_sym in this mock-up inline form, ele.send_keys(x[i], x[i].intern, x[i], x[i].intern)

I tried both intern and to_sym with the same result, as expected.

I'm trying to parse a string and output a string with symbol parameter.

Input string: 'Student One', :return, 'Student Two', :return Output: ele.send_keys('Student One', :return, 'Student Two', :return)

def fill_in(field_name,text) # ele = Find.Element(find_locator(:text_field,field_name)) # ele.clear #The above correctly obtains the text: # 'Student One', :return, 'Student Two', :return #Therefore, hard code to test:    text = "'Student One', :return, 'Student Two', :return"    items = text.split(/,\s?/)    ele.send_keys(items.each_index {|x|      next if x % 2 == 1      if (x<items.size-1) then items +', ' else items end     items[x+1].intern     }) end

Output 'Student One', :return, 'Student Two', :return

When I run this instead of the symbols acting like symbols they act like strings, the :returns are not resolved.

However, hard coded strings and symbols like the following work as expected: ele.send_keys('Student One', :return, 'Student Two', :return)

Output Student One Student Two

References: Send Keys syntax http://selenium.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/docs/api/rb/Selenium/WebDriver/Element.html#send_keys-instance_method

Keys you can send: http://selenium.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/docs/api/rb/Selenium/WebDriver/Keys.html

Couple problems here:

- each_index returns the original array. You're not assigning any new values to it, so of course .intern isn't having any effect.

- not sure exactly what you're doing with the +', ' there, but I suspect you really want Ruby's "splat" operator. It takes an array and fills in the arguments to the method with each element (simplified description). Your code would end up looking like: