I want to Use each block only a certain # of times

I'm a newb with a simple question I have been researching everywhere

I have a block <% @current_user.calls.each do |c| %                        <%= link_to c.name, etc,blah blah blah -%>                      <& end %>

and it does this for all the current_user_calls I have but I want to only show the last 5 Thery are laready in the order I want so is there a way to tell the each to only do it 5 times

Any help will be appreciated

You can't. You can however give each an array with the correct number of elements, eg @current_user.calls[0,5].each ...

If .calls is an activerecord associations then that's not a great idea because you're loading all of them, only to discard all but the first 5.

current_user.calls.find :all, :limit => 5

will only load 5 calls etc...

Fred

@current_user.calls.first(5).each do |c| or    @current_user.calls.last(5).each do |c|

depending on which order they are already in compared to what you want to see.

-Rob

Rob Biedenharn http://agileconsultingllc.com Rob@AgileConsultingLLC.com

Frederick Cheung wrote:

If .calls is an activerecord associations then that's not a great idea because you're loading all of them, only to discard all but the first 5.

current_user.calls.find :all, :limit => 5

will only load 5 calls etc...

Fred

except you can't eager load associations with a limit... so if it weren't just for current user, but, instead;

@all_users.each do |user|   user.calls.last(5).each do |call|     ...   end end

or

@all_users.each do |user|   user.calls.find(:all, :limit => 5, :order => "id DESC").each do |call|     ...   end end

I'd go for the former I guess it's a toss up between eager-loading too much, and doing too many smaller queries...

Matthew Rudy http://www.workingwithrails.com/person/12394-matthew-rudy-jacobs

Thanks much Fredrick but I'm not sure what to do with the code What I have is the followint