How to Generate Controllers from the command line

Am I doing this correct.

ruby script/generate controller Site index about help

after I run the line above from the command prompt it spits out

exists app/controllers/ exist app/helpers/ create app/views/site Etc.........

What does exists and create mean, is exists telling me that those controllers now exists, and is create telling me I need to create controllers? How do I create controllers for views and so forth?

it's saying that the app/controllers folder already existed but that
it had to create the app/views/site folder

Fred

Being a newbie myself, I will add a word of caution.

Compare the version the book is based on, with what you are running. I was on Rails 2.2.2 and its syntax for scaffold generation is different from the earlier versions in the sense that the attributes are expected in the command line now.

I learnt that the hard way. So if you are using the latest and greatest, read the book with a pinch of salt and check the net when in doubt!

Hope this helps. I am using Rails 2.2.2 on Ruby 1.8.6 using MySQL 5.0 on WinXP. This config just works for me.

Aside: Started off with Komodo and then jRuby on NetBeans IDE , using MySQL 6.0 on Vista 64-bit but it was a mess cause half the time the IDE was tripping me up and some gems/plugins wouldnt install correctly. Dont know if it was because of Vista or NetBeans on 64-bit. I had to use MySQL 6.0 as that is the only one which would run on Vista 64-bit. but then some Rails stuff was not certified for mySQL 6.0 so ultimately I got out of that rat hole.

cheers

Hey, welcome to the club!

I am in same boat. and m learning as I go. If you know Ruby basics, you can dive into Rails tutorials. and working on a real program then whets your appetite.